Adventures of a clothbum mum

Reviews, Parenting and my Ramblings!

Splish, Splash Splosh! Cleaning Product Review.

on June 29, 2013

When I look around my house and look, in particular, at the waste that our house creates there’s something that never sits well with me.

It’s the amount of plastic we use.

Now, I try my best to reduce it by buying things that are packaged in a more environmentally-friendly manner and obvious recycling but in this day and age it’s REALLY hard to avoid.

Everything comes in plastic. Wrapped in plastic. Then often wrapped AGAIN in plastic.

It’s slightly bonkers.

So when I heard of Splosh cleaning products, I was really interested. There’s been a buzz about Splosh in the cloth nappy groups that I’m part of on Facebook and all I was hearing were good things.

I thought I’d better find out more and had a chat with the lovely man behind the company who really kindly sent me over a box of their products to have a play with.

20130629-095711.jpg

The concept of Splosh is really simple.

You buy a starter pack (these start from around £10)
These come with empty plastic bottles and sachets of concentrated cleaning liquid.
You add water from your own tap (thus avoiding paying money to companies for water!)
Then you’re ready to go.

It sounded almost too simple!

So I set to work and made up my bottles. This was really good fun and Monkey watched in fascination as the sachets dissolved.

20130629-095724.jpg

I have to be honest, I was a little sceptical about the handwash as it didn’t seem – well – goopy enough but it soon thickened up and I was proved very, very wrong!

20130629-095719.jpg

I got sent four different products and I have to say that they all smell absolutely gorgeous! My favourite has to be the Pomegranate and Melon kitchen cleaner that even Mr Clothbum has commented on (which is a first!). I also got sent a Blackberry hand wash and Cotton Flower laundry detergent and stain remover.

We’ve been using the Splosh products around the house now for nearly a month and I honestly think that they are fantastic. The laundry detergent has been brilliant on my son’s nappies, plus all our other clothes and both the kitchen cleaner and the handwash do their jobs really well.

What I love about Splosh is that not only are the cleaning products themselves environmentally friendly due to carefully-sourced and developed ingredients, but that all I have to do is go online and order some more refills that will be posted out straight to me.
No more throwing away of plastic bottles.
No more unnecessary waste.

I just hope that they bring out more products soon!

daisytheclothbummum was sent a starter pack of four bottles from Splosh to review but did not receive any payment for this review. All words, thoughts and opinions are my own.

20130629-095729.jpg

Leave a Reply

