Adventures of a clothbum mum

Reviews, Parenting and my Ramblings!

Craft Christmas: Stockings and Bags

on December 15, 2013

There was a time, a long long time ago, when I used to be a lot more craft-orientated.

I used to make loads of stuff for my house, used to enjoy creating lots of cards and was even starting to get pretty good at baking (something which I had previously been quite atrociously bad at).

Then I had a baby…

The time that I could spare for those sort of activities floated away on a sea of breastmilk, nappies and generally babyness.

At first I didn’t miss it at all. Mainly because I was so sleep-deprived at first and then and caught up in a whirlwind that is the first year of a baby’s life and, for me, going back to work.

But now my baby is giving me more time, playing more independently and sleeping more solidly, I’ve been able to get back to doing the things that I really enjoy.

So, this Christmas I’ve made little Monkey Man his own, rather massive stocking out of felt, fake fur and scrap of material and ribbon that I had around the house. I’ve had great fun making up my own winter scene, creating my own patterns and running it all up on my very old sewing machine and I have to say that I’m quite chuffed with the result! Under the red felt at the top is his name, but as I don’t share that on here, I’ve covered it up.

20131215-213451.jpg</a

No, it's not perfect.

Yes, some of the seams are a little wonky and the tree trunks are slightly wibbly.

But in the words of the weird thing at the end of 'The X-Files' – 'I MADE THIS' and I'm going to get a kick out of seeing him pulling his presents out of it on Christmas Day!

With some of the offcuts, I've also knocked up a cute little felt bag (complete with slightly wonky Christmas tree motif…) for Christmas Eve. This is going to have in it some new PJ's, a copy of 'The Night before Christmas' for us to read and some other bits and bobs.

What traditions have you got in your family? Have you been busy craftily making things for the festive season?

Leave a Reply

