Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Winner of the most-like-a-disposable award = All-in-ones

on January 2, 2012

Whilst all these nappies that I’d come across were great, I still wanted to find nappies that would make using cloth a breeze for anyone that had to look after my little boy. Nurseries, child-minders, daddy! I wanted ones that would be as quick and easy to whip on and off as a disposable.

This is where All-in-ones (AIO’s) came in. These nappies basically have everything built into them – the outer, a waterproof layer and the inserts. This means that they involve no putting together, no messing around and are a breeze to use.

There are so many makes of these, it’s ridiculous. They come in both sized versions (you buy bigger sizes as your child grows) or One-Size that are BTP (birth-to-potty) nappies that you unpopper to make them get bigger with your child. These can be really bulky on little newborns but are great value for money as your baby gets bigger. The sized ones are often a better fit on little babies but it’s amazing how fast your baby can grow out of them.

I got the cutest little tiny AIO’s for when my baby was going to be a newborn. These were a mix of Bumgenius XS’s, Tots Bots Teenyfits and the utterly adorable Lil’ Joeys. They were tiny and very very cute. But, I gave birth to an 8lb 15oz whopper and we hardly used them. He outgrew them in about a fortnight and they are now in a box waiting for potential baby number 2. Thing is – they are great, but can be very cost ineffective.

So, AIO’s – which to get? I have tried out loads. Bumgenius do them and I like the One Size V3 and V4 nappies, which are very reliable indeed. I bought a load of Tots Bots pocket tots at the very start of my cloth nappy adventure, but these just don’t work at all for my son. They gape at the legs and I can’t get a good fit, no matter how hard I try. So, I’m selling them and going to reinvest the money in others. I’ve heard that their other nappies, Easyfits, are meant to be good and they have some very funky prints on them, so I might give them a go.

Bumgenius V3 BTP AIO's Left - popped to the smallest setting. Right - unpopped to the largest setting

The AIO’s that seem to work best for me are the Itti Bitti D’Lish AIO’s. They are sized, very similar to the snap-in-ones that I’ve already blogged about and are lovely and slim fitting. But the problem with all AIO’s is that they take an age to dry as everything is sewn together. It’s much easier when you can dry the components of a nappy seperately.

Itti Bitti D'Lish All in One nappy - so so strokable!

2 responses to “Winner of the most-like-a-disposable award = All-in-ones

  1. bex says:

    If you haven’t tried the tots Bots easyfifits yet they are £3.74 in tesco ! We love them

Leave a Reply

