Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Lovely start to the day! Why I prefer cloth nappies…Leaks…

on January 23, 2012

20120123-113953.jpg

As I’m currently running my exciting GIVEAWAY, I’m going to keep the next few days blog posts short and sweet. Ok, there’s another reason, in that the dreaded winter sickness bug has hit and I feel more ill than I’ve felt in years, but that should subside soon, so all’s good!

Now, as you may know if you’ve been reading all my posts, even though I’m incredibly pro cloth nappies, we have been using a disposable at night. The reason is that those very padded night nappies seem to make my little Monkey’s reflux worse and we came to the very difficult decision that a flatter, less bulky disposable would be the way forward, for now. We’ve recently started to wean the little Terror, so hopefully night cloth nappies will be making a reappearance very soon.

So, ugh, this morning. Not pleasant at all. At about four o’clock Monkey decided that the world was ending. Dramatically. With lots and lots of sobbing, screaming and howling that I swear my neighbour (and probably the whole street) could hear. I hoisted him into bed, laid him on top of me and let him settle down to have a nice, long feed. He seemed happy enough, looking up at me every now and then with those gorgeous baby blues and making very cute little snuffly noises. But, then, his face changed – went very serious, and all hell broke loose with a resounding pffffffffft sound.

He NEVER poos at night. NEVER. But, maybe because I’ve not been well and, perhaps, his stomach isn’t quite right either, he let rip and the world fell out of him. And went everywhere. Up his back, down his legs, all over his babygrow. Absolutely disgusting! He’s done ones like that before, but in cloth during the day – and they’ve held it all in thanks to the elastication. But a disposable just didn’t stand a chance. Needless to say, I’m pushing forward the ‘going back to cloth night nappies’ as there’s no way I want another early morning start like that!

2 responses to “Lovely start to the day! Why I prefer cloth nappies…Leaks…

  1. debut dad says:

    I’m a new dad, but I think I’ll be a pro-cloth nappy dad… your post has just helped cement this prediction 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. I’m a pro cloth mummy, who also uses ‘eco’ disposables at night as my 9 month old needs 2 changes in cloth even with two liners and i don’t like changing her during the night, as she still wakes every 3 hours a night for feeds!
    I’m with you that cloth copes with no 2 better, but haven’t found a cloth nappy that can cope with a whole night of liquid without my little girl getting wet through her vest, sleepsuit and gro bag.

Leave a Reply

