Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Night nappy experiment- continued!

on February 17, 2012

As I’m typing with one hand on the iPad whilst Monkey is feeding, I thought I’d give you a quick update on the night nappy experiment. It’s going ok, not perfectly, and we’re contemplating buying in some new nappies that might be better.

The Flip wrap with the staydry insert and the pop-in booster worked pretty well. He slept solidly for 5 hours with no leaks but then did his usual consistent waking up thing from about 2am. This is when he won’t be out down – you’ll think he’s in the deepest sleep, that it’s safe and then all hell breaks loose! The nappy starting leaking at about 7+ hrs but he was lying on me at the point, so it was also getting very compressed. Not bad, though!

The next thing I’m going to try is going to be a boosted Bumgenius, as I’ve read on various nappy group forums that this can work. I doubt it’ll stand up to his peeing, but we’ll see!

What night nappies would some of you recommend? I need thinnish ones that aren’t going to break the bank!!!

5 responses to “Night nappy experiment- continued!

  1. Sarah says:

    i haven’t met a nappy that can hold more than the little comfort bamboo nappies – and you can boost it with more bamboo – they are very slim too for so much soakage. for me a two part nappy ie nappy and cover were the best for holding pee!

  2. sarah says:

    a flip organic insert plus the stay dry is a good slim option, or a bamboozle stretch is trim. I love bumhuggers as they are fleece lined and so soft inside but they are a little more bulky than a stretchy.

  3. liferesumed says:

    Hi there, new reader here. I’m only just 11 weeks into using cloth- so certainly no expert! But thought I’d suggest an Itti Bitti Tutto for you to try if you haven’t already. They’re very customizable and for a boy I reckon you would want a lot of the absorbancy up the front, leaving the back fairly trim We use them and can get five hours easily but I’ve not tried longer as we’re still feeding frequently so do the mid-feed change.

  4. Liz bishop says:

    We use bambooty night nappies, it’s an all in one n no wrap, we love it as goes 13 hours with no leaks. It’s very slim n a low rise which I’ve heard some ppl don’t like but works well for us 🙂 xx

  5. I’ll have to have a play around! The flip combo I did worked quite well but he’s full of a cold so we’ll restart the experiment once he’s not so snotty!!!

Leave a Reply

