Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

From the archives: My first blog post!

on March 15, 2012

As my blog is ever growing, I thought I should look back at my first few posts and reshare them. I thought they’d be useful to have again, higher up on my blog roll for any mums who are thinking of using cloth.

So, here’s the first, explaining all about my naive, clothy beginnings!

When I found out that I was pregnant I was stupidly happy. I hyperventilated, I danced around the house, I got rather terrified and then I got excited. Very very excited. For all the obvious “I’m having a baby” reasons, of course. But, to be honest, also because I was going to get to do all the things that I’d had planned in my head for a very, very long time.

You see – I’ve wanted to be a mummy for ages. Sat by watching everyone get hitched, have a zillion children and then get the snip or those pesky tubes tied whilst I was trying, and failing miserably, to get pregnant. There was no reason. Our little swimmers and eggs just weren’t having the party that we were. They weren’t behaving.

But then – they did! Finally! After almost completely giving up. And so the plans that I’d had running around my head for well over a decade were finally able to come to fruition in an exciting whirlwind of shopping and crafty making things.

Cloth nappies were a major part of this plan.

Cute, fluffy cloth!

I always wanted to use them but now that I was finally pregnant, I started to wonder. Would they be too much work? As I was now at the ripe old age of 35, would the ‘extra work’ that I’d heard about cloth nappies be just too much for me. After all, I’d been used to doing exactly whatever I wanted. When I wanted. Whenever I wanted.
Would extra washing, stuffing and all the things that I just hadn’t thought about be a pain? Would my hubby be ok with it all or would he hate them? There was a lot to consider.

And then there was the question about clothing from birth. Both my mum and mother-in-law had used the old terries and whilst they were very supportive of my idea to use cloth nappies, they both thought that I would find it easier to use sposies for a little while after the birth. It’d ‘make it easier at first for me’,I was reassured.

So I set about getting some disposable nappies. I used all those coupons that you get with the various packs that well-meaning companies that want you to spend loads of money with them in the future give out to impressionable mothers-to-be. I built up quite a stash of size 1’s and 2’s.
But I really didn’t like them. They felt horrid, to me. And the more I read into them, the more it didn’t quite sit right with me. I didn’t like the idea of nappies lying there in the ground in many years to come, stinking away and not decomposing properly – and then there was the issue of all those chemical compounds so close to a little baby’s skin. So, then I got some eco-disposables. Better – but still, they felt so papery. Why would I make a baby wear those when I wore nice comfy cotton knickers? It all seemed rather wrong.

So I started to build up a stash of cloth nappies. Slowly, stumbling through a world that exists on the fringes of babydom. You see – you just can’t buy them easily in shops. There are a few places where you can buy them but they are just so dull and plain that it’s understandable why people would be put off. In fact, if that’s all that was out there I just wouldn’t have bothered.

This is going to be my blog of my experiences. Of my mistakes (which there were countless), of my discoveries and of my successes. I really hope this little rambling area of the net might be of some use to a mummy who’s thinking of taking the plunge and opting for this fun, cute and comfy way of nappying a child.

Leave a Reply

