Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Doesn’t time fly…

on March 30, 2012

20120330-133448.jpg

Isn’t it funny how time flies when you’re having fun? In my case it really is flying by and it’s not long now before I’m rejoining the world of the working and my little Monkey is off to nursery for a few days each week.

So, how am I feeling? Honestly? I’m ok. A little sad as I obviously don’t want to part from him at all (who would – he’s amazing!), but it’s something that I always knew would happen and what makes it much easier to deal with is the fact that I love my job. That’s going to make not being with him much less upsetting that it could be. I don’t know if I could do this if I was going back to a job I hated. I have days where it upsets me, but I know that once we’re in a routine then we’ll be fine. Plus, I’m lucky enough to be spending more of the week with him than without him. Some people aren’t so fortunate, so I’m very aware of how good this is.

The next month, therefore, is our countdown. I plan on spending a lot of time with him, enjoying every single second – but I’m being very realistic. The worst thing that I could possibly do is keep him with me at all times and then just plonk him in a nursery the day that I go back to work. That’d just be cruel. He’d find it very strange to suddenly not be with Mummy and as we don’t have any family near us, he doesn’t spend the afternoon at (for example) Grandma’s, like some other children do.

My plan is to ease him gradually into being away from me. He’s already been at nursery for an hour each week (with me hiding in another room where he can’t see me!) He loves this and is having a whale of a time. We’re going to ramp this up over the next few weeks so that he’s going to end up going for full days before I head back to work. Alongside this, he’s spending mornings with a lovely friend of mine, time with Mr Clothbum and also going to a little local creche so that he gets more and more used to being away from Mummy.

If you’ve read any of my other posts, you’ll also know that other parts of this plan include getting him used to taking milk (mainly expressed) from a cup and, hopefully, substituting Mummy for a dummy. The dummy idea still isn’t taking off (I’m not too bothered – he’ll find his own form of comfort, I hope…) but the cups are proving to be a massive hit.

I think the only problem I’m having with all of the above is that my little boy is growing up! I know he’s only seven months old, but he just seems so much more like a little boy than a baby and it’s quite a shock at how quickly that’s happened. I’ll be dealing with girlfriends, nights out clubbing and teenage hangovers before I know it! Eeeeeek…

Leave a Reply

