Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

‘It’s going to take up too much time’

on April 6, 2012

20120406-155916.jpg

I know that I'm usually very upbeat and cheerful when it comes to blogging about my lovely fluffy nappies, but I'm actually getting increasingly annoyed. Annoyed with some of the reasons for not using cloth that people come up with whenever they talk about it to me.

Now, please don't get me wrong. I'm not saying that I'm right and that others are wrong. Everyone is entitled to make their own choices and I firmly believe that. However, I believe that you should make an educated choice based on knowledge and understanding rather than hearsay and lack of information.

I have respect for people who hold their hands up and tell me that they're not using cloth because they're just couldn't be bothered, that they don't have space for airers, that it never appealed or that they weren't aware of the options that cloth has to offer. That's honesty. But the excuse that keeps getting trotted out is:

It's going to take up too much time,
I don't have the time.
Or another version of it.

So. Right. Here's how much time dealing with my cloth nappies took me today.

I picked up the wetbag full of dirty nappies and walked downstairs - 1 minute
I put them in the washing machine - about 30 seconds
I added powder and sanitiser - another 30 seconds
I turned the machine on - a second

Ok, so the washing cycle then took 2 hours, but I was busy playing with Monkey, feeding Monkey, etc, so I'm not going to count that.

Then, I took the nappies out and put them on the airer - 5 minutes.

Once they're dry I'll sit and stuff them, making them ready to use - 15 mins whilst I watch TV!

Take them back upstairs and put them away - 2 minutes.

So, excluding the wash that took me/ will take me - 24 mins.

Ok, so it's not as time efficient as picking up a disposable, putting it in the bin and taking a bag full of them outside every now and then, but it's not exactly a lot of time. And, to add to that - it's spread out over a couple of days (including drying) so it's not really noticeable.

Then just think about the savings and the reduced impact on the environment (as long as you're washing full loads, line/airer drying and not washing over 60 degrees)

I can be very lazy in other areas (love my snuggly lazy days in bed with my family), but I really can't see how that's a lot of effort!

One response to “‘It’s going to take up too much time’

  1. […] 2 years on from those original posts I still have the same views. Have a read here , here and here to find out in more […]

Leave a Reply

