Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Nappies and Nursery – an update

on May 22, 2012

As those of you who’ve been reading the blog probably know, my little Monkey has recently started at nursery as I’ve gone back to work. I was initially a little concerned about sending him in with cloth nappies, but – I’m so so pleased to let you all know – it’s working out incredibly well!

I send in all the nappies he needs (plus spares) for his two days in nursery at the start of the week, along with a couple of wetbags so that I can take one home each night, when I pick him up. After a little bit of trial and error, we found that bumGenius V3’s stuffed with a Flip staydry insert are the best ones for us.

The BG inserts can be so bulky and the nursery nurses found them a little difficult to put on, whereas the Flip inserts are so nice and slim and work really well for my little man. We can often get about 4 hours out of each one, which is brilliant!

He’s had one leak since being there, right at the very start – so I’m immensely impressed. So many friends have said that they’ve either given up on cloth once their little ones started nursery (due to the nursery being rather difficult about using them) or that they have had lots of issues with the nursery not putting the nappies on properly.

So – cloth at nursery CAN be easy and I have to say that I’m so grateful to the nursery that I’m sending Monkey to for being so great! They’ve made that transition really easy and carried on with my parenting choices.

If you’re thinking of sending your little one into nursery with cloth, what I’ve found is that you just need to be quite organised and clear about what you need and how the nappies are to be used. Make sure that you have enough wetbags so that you can take home a bag each night and also ensure that the nappies are really simple to put on. I’ve found that some of my BG’s have poppers that come open too easily (affecting the rise of the nappies), so those ones aren’t good for nursery as I need the nappies to stay at the correct setting!

Also – if you use fleece liners, make sure you emphasis the importance of not throwing these away, otherwise you’ll get through one hell of a lot! Invest in some cheapy fleece blankets to make spares (such as ones from Ikea) as those will save you a bomb!

The final thing you need to do is make sure that the nursery knows to change your baby more frequently that they would do a baby in disposables. That should stop any potential leaks and make your nursery a bit happier at using cloth.

Leave a Reply

