Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Fluffy Battleground: Toddler vs. the whole nappy stash…

on September 6, 2012

20120906-204346.jpg

Ok. So I’ve just recently come to discover something quite startling.

Something that has made me have to stop and utterly rethink how I do things.

Something that is generating a bit more washing!

Something that is changing how I go about life with my lovely, fluffy, cloth nappies.

“Well? What is it? What is this astounding revelation that has come to pass?” I hear you cry…

Erm…

Ahem…

It’s…kinda….well…

Toddlers really can WEE!

Oh, oh my goodness! They can really, really REALLY wee. Ok, so my little monkey isn’t totally quite a toddler – he’s more of a cruiser at the moment (although he did stand up on his own for the first time the other day, which was AMAZING!)

Anyway, I digress. Yes, oh deary me. The nappies that we had come to rely on are just not cutting it anymore. He can wee through them in a nanosecond and it’s, quite frankly, an absolute pain in the backside. Suddenly the majority of our pocket nappies have been rendered utterly redundant and I’m having to rethink how we use our nappies completely.

GAH!

GRRRRRR!

ARRRRRRGGGGGGHHHHH!

I’m sure that there’s quite a few of you sat there, reading this and pretty much laughing at/with me. You’ve probably been there… had the lovely moment where you realise, a mere few minutes after changing your little darling that they’re absolutely sodden with wee….and you have NO MORE CLEAN TROUSERS/ SHORTS IN THE HOUSE.

It’s quite headbanging-against-wall-repeatedly annoying!

So, what’s the solution? Come on then, Daisy – surely you should know…you are, after all, the self-proclaimed nappy-blogging queen…

Errrr…

Well – I think I’m getting there! I’ve found that switching to fitted nappies with a good wrap over the top seems to do the trick. Most pockets are finding the sudden wee torrents a little challenging (although there are a couple of brands, including Baba+Boo and Rumparooz that have coped remarkable well). I’ve found that using fleece liners has made the problem worse at times as all they do is repel the sudden gush of wee, bouncing it back so it leaks out of the leg holes really quickly. Using fleecy liners, like the Little Lamb ones, seems to do the trick right now. My lovely Itti Bitti nappies are coping most of the time, but he’s even managed to beat the bamboo at times.

Have any of you suddenly found your baby turning from a normal, run-of-the-mill widdler into a full blown heavy wetter? It’s interesting that this change seems to have come at a time when little Monkey is now more in control of his own body. He’s cruising, starting to stand independently and is turning into a proper little boy.

It’ll be potty training before I know it… Eeek!!!

2 responses to “Fluffy Battleground: Toddler vs. the whole nappy stash…

  1. cherrypie says:

    Interested to know whether you have tried fleece soakers or flongies at all? Got my first fleece order arriving soon and am nervous- though not quite in toddler territory yet, bubba is just 9 months but can wee for England!

    Will post results on blog, interested to know how u get on x

    • We have use fleece soakers a while ago and they worked really well. I keep meaning to get Monkey new ones as he’s far too big for them! Wool is something that I just haven’t got into – not sure why, as everyone I know loves their woollies!

      Hope the fleece works for you – it’s magical stuff!

Leave a Reply

