Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Tongue Tie: a serious breastfeeding issue

on February 19, 2013

I don’t often share things like this but this petition popped up on my Facebook today and I felt compelled to share.

Tongue Tie Division Petition

Without a tongue tie division procedure, I doubt that Master Clothbum and I would have succeeded in cracking breastfeeding.

Without it I would have had to resort to using prescription formula full time, which I really didn’t want.

Without it I wouldn’t be still breastfeeding a very happy little toddler.

Now, I know that babies do absolutely fine without being breastfed but I feel that all babies/mums should have tongue tie identified and have the option of getting it dealt with asap so that they can breastfeed without pain/latching issues if they so wish.

I’m so grateful to my local breastfeeding support team for the help they gave me at the start and, hopefully, this petition will help others have the same level of help and support.

3 responses to “Tongue Tie: a serious breastfeeding issue

  1. Valerie says:

    Wonderful post! You know, I was just recently reading about tongue tie and how much it can interfere with successful breastfeeding: http://milkmatters.org.uk/2011/04/15/hidden-cause-of-feeding-problems-however-you-feed-your-baby/ I’m glad you were able to identify the issue and resolve it! 🙂
    I am going to be adding some info on my breastfeeding page (that I share info, resources, and encouragement on), and would love to include a link to this post. http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/breastfeeding-rocks/ Would that be alright with you?

    • Of course you can share it! Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I’ve been having a read of your blog and it’s great and so informative xx

      • Valerie says:

        Wonderful! 🙂 I think it’s an important thing to share, as many mothers have probably never heard of it (and yet their baby could have the same problem). Thanks, I hope you come by often! 😀

Leave a Reply

