Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Real Nappy Week 2013 – Wednesday: Real £hange

on April 17, 2013

20130417-194159.jpg

Today is all about ‘Real £hange’! When I first started using cloth nappies there were lots of people who tried to tell me that I wouldn’t save that much money. That by the time I’d washed and dried the nappies that it wouldn’t work out a whole lot cheaper.

Well, 20 months on I can safely say that they WERE TALKING THE BIGGEST LOAD OF NONSENSE EVER!

I’ve saved an absolute fortune! My nappies in total have cost me under £450 (and I’ve bought some really funky, slightly unnecessarily expensive ones too plus a heated Lakeland airer). I don’t tumble dry and only ever use my heated airer when absolutely necessary. At this time of the year, my nappies are out on the line so no electricity bills there and I only do 3 washes a week for Monkey’s things (2 nappy washes and 1 clothes wash).

It’s definitely a cheaper way of doing things for me. If you think that I’d be buying packs and packs of disposables, plus many packs of wipes (I do buy a few but I mainly stick to cloth wipes) and I never really need to buy creams as our tubs last us forever.

To cloth bum a baby it can cost you as little as £50 if you use terries and wraps and even if you choose the most expensive options, it’s not going to work out as expensive as using disposables. Add onto that the fact that you can reuse the nappies on other children or sell them on preloved, you’re pretty much quids in! Have a look at my blog post on COST OF NAPPIES to get an idea!

Now, because it’s all about savings today, I thought it would be the perfect day to open up my little Real Nappy Week 2013 competition!

Do you know someone who’s just starting out with cloth nappies, or just about to?
This year, I’ve decided to put together one bundle of goodies to help someone out!
The winner will get a range of goodies from both myself and the lovely Eve at Baba+Boo

All you have to do is write a comment in no more than 25 words, saying why you feel this person deserves a little helping hand.

Please comment on either the Blog, Facebook (daisytheclothbummum) or via Twitter (@daisyclothbum) and the name of the person you nominate will be placed in the draw to win.

So – what do they win? The lucky person will get:

A small Pumpkin Pants soaker (blue with cars on it)
A size 1 Tots Bots stretchie
A BTP Baba+Boo nappy, courtesy of the lovely lovely Eve!
plus a few other bits and bobs!

The competition is open from NOW (as soon as this post goes live until Sunday 21st April at 5pm. Once the deadline has passed, I’ll put all the names into the ‘hat’ (Monkey’s little sorting toy) and he’ll pull out the name of the lucky person who gets to have the bundle posted to them.

I will then contact the person who nominated the winner to get hold of their email address.

Remember to let me know via the FB page or add #daisynappybundle to your Tweets, or I won’t be able to keep track of you all.

Before I post the question, the T&C are as follows:

The competition will close at 5pm on Sunday 21st April 2013
The nappy will only be posted out to a UK address.
The winner will be decided by daisytheclothbummum and is final.
The winner will be notified, and announced, as soon as possible after the giveaway closes.
After the competition closes, I’ll pick out twenty entries that are (in my eyes) the most creative and they’ll go into the ‘hat’. Monkey will then pick out a winner and I’ll document this via photos for you!

Disclaimer:
daisytheclothbummum gives her time freely to run this giveaway and is not being paid for running it.

20130417-194143.jpg

20130417-194150.jpg

19 responses to “Real Nappy Week 2013 – Wednesday: Real £hange

  1. Leah Gibson says:

    I would like to nominate Emily bird as she is 23 and just taken on her partners children that makes 6! She is just starting on her journey but money is tight!

  2. marleen says:

    I would like to nominate Kate Kett… she introduced me to cloth (and several others too)… she runs woking nappy library… and she is expecting a no 2 in a few weeks so the little extra’s will be very welcome!

  3. Danielle McLeod says:

    I would like to nominate my friend & bump buddy Claire Bowman- White. She’s an awesome friend she’s helped me along my cloth journey- even though we are a nightmare together losing purses,keys & getting lost on public transport 🙂

  4. Natalie Ray says:

    I don’t have a nomination but I just wanted to say that I love your blog and I love real nappies! 🙂

  5. Sarah jackson says:

    My friend is pregnant after trying for 5 years and having a loss she’a due in September and so excited to start using cloth. She doesn’t have a lot of money so I’m buying her newborn stash for her x

  6. Katie Kenny says:

    I would like to nominate my sister in law Beverley Graham who is due her first baby in June, she likes the idea of using cloth but I think they are a bit short of money and worried about the initial outlay of money along with all the other expenses of having a baby, a beginners bundle would be ideal for her and hopefully be the start of a fab cloth bumming journey.

  7. I nominate Jude Walsh for your bundle. Jude would love to give real nappies a go but has just returned to work part time and has limited funds

  8. leanne finch says:

    I would like to nominate my friend Shelly, who is due her second set of twins in october! She said I can get them fluff! I’m sure with 5 under 5, she would appreciate the chance to save some pennies! Two sets of twins is amazeballs isn’t it! Xxx

  9. Julia says:

    Would like nominate my sister Carla Compton cause she is an amazing sister :)))))))))

  10. bella dorsett says:

    I would like to nominate my friend Stacey Emma Dungar as she is just away to venture into cloth on her newborn. Her hubby wasnt keen to begin with but now he is on board it would be fanstastic for her to win some fluff.

  11. Clare coucill says:

    I would like to nominate my friend Gemma, she has supported me in my decision to cloth bum my bump, due August and when times have been tough with the health of the baby she has always pulled me back up. Would like to give her alittl something back as a thank you xxx

  12. Sarah Everitt says:

    I would love Lisa Shinn to win, she’s my best friend and now bump buddy , I promised to loan her my stash but now can’t.

  13. […] A quick reminder to enter your friend into my GIVEAWAY! It closes on Sunday so get your skates […]

  14. Katie says:

    I would like to nominate my sister Victoria to win. She wanted to use cloth but her husband said no….he has now changed his mind after some gentle persuasion and she is choosing which nappies to use. She hasn’t got any yet so a starter kit would be ideal as I know money is tight now she has started her maternity leave.

  15. Nicola marchant says:

    I would like to nominate Peterborough and Cambridgeshire nappy library https://www.facebook.com/PeterboroughandCambridgeshireNappyLibrary?ref=ts&fref=ts these prizes would then benefit not just one person but lots of people wishing to start on the cloth adventure and give the library an opportunity to show more of a range of different brands of nappies

  16. […] Remember you’ve got until 5pm today to enter my GIVEAWAY! What are you waiting for? Nominate a friend […]

  17. Angela Flint says:

    I would like to nominate jess Haslem who runs the Preston nappy library, lots of people would benefit from the prize nd it wod really boost the library’s nappys

Leave a Reply

