Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Messy Play for Matilda Mae: Homemade Playdough

on May 25, 2013

20130525-104917.jpg

I appear to have misplaced my wireless keyboard, so this post is going to be short and sweet.

We’ve had a lovely morning! I decided to make my own playdough.
Now, I’ve done it many times before but always used salt as a base, which I didn’t want to do with Monkey.

This version has 1 cup of flour, 1/2 a cup of water and 3 tablespoons of olive oil.

It initially didn’t mix together too well so I carefully dribbled a bit more water into the mix until I was happy with it. I then wanted to get some colour into it but my food colourings are very strong and I knew they’d stain dreadfully.

So, I improvised and used a packet of jelly crystals. It worked really well and we got a lovely, slightly mottled and spotted pinky/purple dough.

Then….

I just let Monkey have fun!

I put out –

A rolling pin
Various cookie cutters
Dried pasta of various kinds
Clay tools to make marks with
Feathers
A plastic fork
Trains and cars
People/animals
Plastic eggs that open up and have lovely serrated edges.

He has had so much fun!

Making marks
Squishing
Squashing
Rolling
Stretching
Pulling pieces off and making small balls
Putting the pasta and feather into the dough
Moving everything from one container…to another…to another!

He been playing for well over half an hour and is utterly entranced!

There is a linky badge for linking up to the wonderful Jennie at Edspire, who is linking up lots of messy play blogs in memory of her gorgeous daughter, Matilda Mae, who very sadly passed away from SIDS a few months ago. I don’t seem to be able to get the badge to work at the moment but please head over to her blog to see what an inspiration she is.

20130525-104942.jpg

2 responses to “Messy Play for Matilda Mae: Homemade Playdough

Leave a Reply

