Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Why use cloth: a visual reminder

on June 14, 2014

I’m very aware how sporadic my posts are at the moment, and I apologise. Life kind of gets in the way!

Our son has recently broken his leg and I’ve found over the past few months that any free time I’d usually have isn’t mine anymore. He’s definitely a lot more needy right now, which is perfectly understandable. Add to that the madness that is being a teacher at this time of the year and you have a heady concoction of insanity!!

Anyway, I digress.

Since breaking his leg, our pretty much potty trained boy has needed to wear nappies again to avoid leaking all over a cast.

We tried cloth pull ups – not anywhere near absorbent enough.

We went back to cloth nappies for a little while – he took them off, declaring he was now ‘a big boy’…

So, eventually, we conceded and have used Naty pull-ups. They’re better than your standard disposable as at least they’re eco and biodegradeable but it’s still really grated on me. He’s actually not used too many as he’s been mainly asking for the toilet, but I’ve HATED the amount of waste created.

Then I saw this photo online that I’m going to put on this post and it funnily enough made me calm down.

The amount of waste I’VE NOT CREATED as a result of using cloth from birth far outweighs the little amount that I’ve just had to create out of necessity.

And that’s brilliant!

Cloth is brilliant!

You’re all brilliant for considering using cloth nappies and even more amazing for using them!

People need to be educated more and more as to what they are doing to our planet. It’s just disgraceful.

20140614-092927-34167762.jpg

Leave a Reply

