Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Vegan chocolate mousse

on January 10, 2015

As my monkey has potty trained, I’m finding that I’m now writing more and more about food than about nappies. I hope that’s ok for regular readers of this blog – you can always scroll back to find nappy information/reviews.

As Real Nappy Week comes closer I, of course, will shift my focus back to all that is gorgeous and fluffy but, for now, let’s concentrate on the decadent gorgeousness that is vegan chocolate mousse.

Having a dairy intolerant child means that most chocolate mousses that you can buy are off limits and the other option is usually a soya based dessert.

As we’re trying to avoid too much soya, I have been looking around for another way. A way that created a really thick, creamy mousses similar in texture to a chocolate pot/luxury ganache-type dessert. I think I’ve finally hit the jackpot with this recipe that I found on Pinterest and have slightly adapted. As it’s vegan, it’s obviously dairy-free and egg-free, which is brilliant for any breastfeeding mums who have children allergic to these ingredients or for anyone with dairy/egg allergies.

All you need is:-

A ripe avocado or two
1/4 cup of chilled coconut cream
Up to 1/4 cup of Cocoa powder
Up to 1/4 cup Agave nectar (or a similar sweetener)
About 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract
A blender (I use a stick blender with an closed bowl attachment on the end )

1. Scoop out the avocado and plonk it into your blender.

2. Then add all the other ingredients and blend. I’ve not put precise measurements as it’s all down to personal taste.

You need enough of everything to take away the avocado taste, but how thick/creamy/sweetened you want it is up to you.

It’s absolutely gorgeous and I made mine fairly thick so it didn’t even fall off the spoon when it’s turned upside down! Yum!!!

2015/01/img_3013.jpg

Leave a Reply

