Adventures of a Free-From Clothbum Mum!

Cloth nappies, dairy-free living, reviews and parental ramblings!

Dairy Free Delights- Birthday Cakes

on August 18, 2015

Now, I know I’m massively sporadic in how I’m posting texts at the moment and for that, I apologise. But life is so busy and hectic that there just don’t seem like enough hours in the day.

To be brutally honest I’m mainly posting today to show off! I’ve been getting rather despondent at the vast array of stunning birthday cakes that other people can buy or have made for them that my little man just can’t have because of his allergies/intolerances. Plus, the amount some cake makers charge for a dairy/nut free cake is astounding. 

So over the years I’ve had to make his birthday cakes. I was SO bad at first but I think I’m gradually improving. 

Fondant figures – a massive no-no as mine tend to look mental! But all the other stuff is coming together a bit more now. It’s so nice to be able to make him things he likes! 

I swear by the Mary Berry Victoria Sponge recipe. All I do is swap the butter for Vitalite dairy-free and add a bit of flavouring. Then for buttercream, for every 200g of icing sugar, I use 70g Vitalite dairy-free/ 30g Trex and then add my flavouring until I’m happy. It doesn’t need any oat milk in it as the Vitalite is far looser than normal butter and Trex helps it firm up!

   
 Safe to say. These went down a treat this year! He had ‘The Snail and the Whale’ for his nursery party and ‘Paw Patrol’ for his actual birthday! Only issue has been making them when the smell of fondant sets off nasty hyperemesis attacks…

Yes. You read that correctly. 

There will be more nappy blogging in the near future! 


Leave a comment